Hanna Omar Seeks Seat on County Council

February 27


Unopposed in the May primary, Hanna Omar, 36, will challenge either Republican Scott Bonnell or Marcus Speer in the November general election.



Ross Thomas for Indiana Senate District 41

December 15

A Jennings County native who has lived in Columbus for the past 15 years plans to challenge an incumbent in the Indiana General Assembly.

Ross Thomas, 48, has announced his intention to run as a Democrat for the Indiana State Senate in District 41 in the 2018 election. That seat is held by Sen. Greg Walker, R-Columbus.

It will be Thomas’ first attempt at seeking public office. District 41 includes portions of Johnson and Bartholomew counties.

A 1988 graduate of Jennings County High School, Thomas earned his undergraduate degree in political economy in 1992. Two years later, he received his law degree from the Indiana University School of Law. He has a law practice in Indianapolis.

The state legislature is out of touch with the needs of working families struggling with stagnant wages, crumbling infrastructure and embattled public schools, Thomas said.

“Those we have elected to serve us seem more concerned with pleasing lobbyists and helping their friends and donors than solving problems for the rest of us,” Thomas said.

 To follow Ross or donate to his campaign go to https://www.facebook.com/rossthomasforsenate/?ref=br_rs


GOP Senate candidate: “More and more,” Republicans thinking about voting for Joe Donnelly

October 19

INDIANAPOLIS - A Republican U.S. Senate candidate took to the stage to tell a Republican Party dinner that Hoosier Republicans are increasingly telling him they may vote for Joe Donnelly, the Journal Gazette reported this afternoon.

Click here to read more


← Previous  1  2  3  4  5  Next →
Bartholomew County Democratic Party
The mission of the BCDP is to identify, support and promote the election of democrats at all levels of government who are committed to building and ensuring public policy and an economy that lift up ALL people living in Bartholomew County.